top of page

Stonehenge rocks.


As if my weekend couldn’t have gotten anymore eventful, Saturday we spent the day traveling to Bath and Stonehenge.

Stop one: Bath.

After a long night, all I wanted to do on the bus was sleep. The others were all out as soon as our guide finished his spiel. We drove the “familiar” route through the city toward Heathrow airport. We passed scenes that reminded me of the sponge I was the day we arrived, soaking up everything we passed. Then all of a sudden, I felt like I was back home. Green rolling hills, thousands of trees and the occasional farm dotted the landscape in front of me. The concrete jungle of London is beautiful in its own right but this just felt more natural; my kind of landscape.

The two-hour bus ride took us high into the hills through narrow, winding roads to the beautiful city of Bath.

The city looks like it is out of a movie set – far different from anything you can every see if the states.

The picturesque scenery was the attraction. (And I guess so were the baths.)

The Romans traveled to the city of Bath to just that, bathe. The city has natural springs that they channeled to pools of cold, natural and hot water. Of course, the buildings were gorgeous. (See Facebook). But really, after a couple of hours, I had experienced Bath.

Stop two: Stonehenge.

Let the conspiracy theories begin. (We all settled on aliens).

The pictures don’t do it justice. We each took dozens of photos from every angle possible. The sheer size of the rocks is astounding – how is it even possible that people moved those rocks nearly 120 miles and raised them up and on top of one another before the invention of the wheel? (I’m telling you, aliens).

It’s one of those things that you have to see. The experience can’t really be described; the impact is lost in translation.

The beauty outside the city made me fall in love with England. As much as I enjoy watching people and taking in the city life, the country is my comfort zone.

Cheers, Abby

Things I have learned:

- King George the First didn’t speak English. He was also the king of Hanover at the same time he was the king of England and spent most of his time in Hanover.

- The term daylight robbery comes from the window tax that the British had to pay for the amount of windows they had. Some would board up some windows in order to lower their tax.

- Stonehenge sits on a confluence of lay lines. This means that there are multiple channels of magnetic force that come together under the site of Stonehenge.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page