top of page

2 Kool 4 Skool

The idea of summer school isn’t always a favorite. The thought of being stuck inside staring at peeling paint and listening to someone talk at you for three hours while the rest of the world is seemingly enjoying the beautiful outdoors is taunting.

Especially when you are in another country.

Each week have I have about eight hours of class, give or take a little bit depending on what the professors have planned. The first week was dawned with paperwork and the typically introductions. It was typical class, which I wasn’t looking forward to when I could be exploring London instead. What I didn’t realize was that in “class” that’s exactly what I would be doing: exploring.

What I didn’t realize is that class – and I use that term loosely – was exactly that: exploring London.

Greenwich: Greenwich was an hour tube ride over the river and into the Southeastern area of the financial district. You may have heard of Canary Wharf before which was close to where we were. As someone not familiar with the layout of London and its various boroughs (I live quite centrally in the area of Maida Vale), it amazes me that one city can be so segmented.

My favorite part of this journey was that, while we were on the tube – the underground railway – we weren’t actually underground. It resembled more of a ride on the Chicago L than anything else. Probably my least favorite thing so far is that although I travel across the city in different directions almost daily, I still have no concept of where I am because I am underground. I don’t get to see the sights or experience the differences between areas.

Greenwich also happens to be where the idea of time began. We started on one side of the Thames and took an underground tunnel beneath the river to the University of Greenwich. The line of “positive” and “negative” time sits on a hill behind the Queen’s house.

Let me tell you, this was no ordinary hill. If I knew how to grade the steepness of a hill, I would have done it. But the trek was worth it. You could see the whole city from the top of that hill. We each took turns straddling the prime meridian, standing in both the western hemisphere and the eastern. Again, the beauty can’t really be captured in a photograph, which is a shame because if I could bring the views of the city heights home with me, I would.

Barbican: While most of the boroughs of London have an identity all there own, Barbican is a whole other beast. You don’t feel like you are in London at all. Surrounded by brutalist architecture you are trapped into a world that is entirely its own – which was also the point. By design, the brutalist architects of Barbican wanted to escape the world around them and block out nature. Buildings are raised off the ground and walls enclose all areas – blocking out views and taking away the nature that is below. The idea was that living in this area you would never have to leave. There are schools, restaurants, housing and an art gallery all in this little area. While I could never do that, it all sounds quite nice, doesn’t it? Having everything you need at your fingertips, never having to rely on the outside world. Eh, to each his own I guess.

We also visited the Jean Paul Gaultier fashion exhibit while at the art gallery. It was very interesting. (Check out the pictures in my photo album).

Next week we visit the famous Brick Lane (which I also explored with Scott on Sunday). See, summer school isn’t that bad.

I know I promised more things I have learned but I am going to defer to my next post. My brain hurts right now. Too much tea.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page